Book Review: The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward

Posted June 17, 2014 by @Angelized_1st in Books, Entertainment / 0 Comments


After hearing a lot about J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series I decided to finally check it out. So far this series has twelve books, and the last thing I wanted was to begin another series, but once I read the first book Dark Lover I was hooked! The BDB series falls under the supernatural romance category, and each book in the series focuses on a different member of the Brotherhood meeting and falling for the love of their life. The series is yet another vampire series, but these vampires live by different rules from other series that have permeated the market in the last decade.

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race.

The vampire society is very much like our own was back in the Dark Ages, and the vampires themselves have an almost wolf-like quality to them. They are fierce, loyal, and mate for life. On the sidelines is the BDB who protects the other “regular” vampires from these soulless undead humans called “Lessers” who feed off of vampires. While the vampires pray to the Virgin Scribe, which is like the Virgin Mary, the Lessers bow down to the Omega aka the Devil. These two groups battle it out, while making sure humans stay ignorant that what goes bump in the night is real. On top of all that, the leader of the BDB and King of the Vampire Nation, Wrath, is immersed in political intrigue with enemies out to depose him.

What I loved about this series is how even though each book focuses on a different member of the group and/or one of their acquaintances, readers aren’t left wondering what’s happening with the other characters in the series. This makes the universe Ward built seem real and allows readers to become immersed in the story. With this said, I wouldn’t recommend reading any of the books out-of-order as the overarching story of the fight between good and evil builds over the entire series, and readers may feel confused. A definite must-read for anyone looking for a smutty book to read on vacation or a day at the beach, but don’t let you kid read! This series is definitely for adults, as the series is chock-full of violence, graphic sex scenes, and contains strong language.

 Warning: This series is highly addictive and still unfinished. Read at your own risk!


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,430 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.