Book Review: Obsidian (Lux Series #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Posted September 1, 2014 by @Angelized_1st in Books, Entertainment, Reading Challenges / 0 Comments

Book Review: Obsidian (Lux Series #1) by Jennifer L. ArmentroutObsidian (Lux - Book One) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: LUX Series,
Published by Hodder & Stoughton on June 26th 2014
Genres: Coming of Age, Fiction, General, Love & Romance, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
ISBN: 9781620610077
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks


When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.


Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something... unexpected happens.


You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.


After the final book in the LUX series came out this August I was bombarded by friends wanting to talk to me about this series believing I, too, was a fan. I wasn’t. In fact, I had never heard of the series until they mentioned it to me. After learning the first book in the series, Obsidian, was free in the Kindle store I decided to download it since their enthusiasm was incredibly infectious. To say that I devoured this series is an understatement. It was so hard to put down that I could barely function. This series consumed my thoughts, and I counted down the minutes until I could pick it up again. In less than a week I had read all five books, plus a prequel, and can’t wait to read the spin-off book. While I usually review an entire series, I’ve decided to review each book individually as a means to ensnare others to this wonderful series by Jennifer Armentrout, and as a means to hold on to this series for a little bit longer.

The series kicks off with the first book, Obsidian, in which Katy Schwarz moves with her mom to West Virginia following the death of her father. Dreading starting over during her senior year of high school, Katy resigns herself to living in a small town with spotty internet access. Being a book blogger, this is the worst possible thing to experience. Ever. Or so she thinks…TWhen I read the synopsis I immediately thought of the old WB series, Roswell, and was afraid this series would pale in comparison. I was wrong. While this series does have hot, young alien orphans who forge relationships with humans that put all of them in danger with their own and the government, this series went off in different directions from the former hit series. That’s not to say the comparisons weren’t close enough to raise an eyebrow, or two, but this book series was different enough that I didn’t feel as if I was reading a series I used to watch over a decade ago.

“I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect.” His eyes searched mine intently, and for a moment we stood there toe to toe. “The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.”

The way Katy and Daemon’s relationship develops is very believable given the situation they find themselves in, and I loved the way Katy discovers that Daemon is an alien. I also loved Katy’s relationship with Daemon’s sister Dee. Katy’s obsession with books and her book blog also made me giggle a time or two, as I could totally relate to her. I also found Katy to be a strong female character, instead of the typical pushover Mary Sue you’d usually find many YA novels these days. While Katy spends most of her time trying to prove herself Daemon’s equal, it’s obvious from the get-go that she already is a force to be reckoned with.

If you’re looking for a quick read that’s engaging and fun, then I definitely recommend this series. Enjoy!

Rating Report
Overall: 5

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

# 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout Lives in West Virginia. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write.

She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press), the Lux Series (Entangled Teen), Don’t Look Back (Disney/Hyperion) and a yet untitled novel (Disney/Hyperion), and new YA paranormal series with Harlequin Teen.

Jennifer also writes New Adult and Adult romance under the pen name J. Lynn. The Gamble Brothers Series (Tempting the Best Man/Tempting the Player) and Wait for You. Under her pen name, she is published with Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,429 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.