Book Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Posted May 29, 2015 by @Angelized_1st in 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge, 2015 TBR Pile Reading Challenge, Books, Entertainment, Reading Challenges / 0 Comments

Book Review: Legend by Marie LuLegend by Marie Lu
Series: Legend,
Published by Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated on 2013
Genres: Action & Adventure, General, Law & Crime, Love & Romance, Runaways, Science Fiction, Social Issues, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 305
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
ISBN: 9780142422076
Reading Challenges: 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge, 2015 TBR Pile Reading Challenge
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks
Goodreads
five-stars

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything's possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time." He looks toward the railway car's open door, where streaks of dark water blanket the world. "You try to walk in the light.” ― Marie LuLegend

A New York Times bestseller! What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem. From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets. Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.

The Good…:

Marie Lu’s Legend takes place in the dystopian society of a futuristic United States. The country is divided by some mysterious circumstance into two separate and unequal nations: The Colonies of America and The Republic of America. As the two nations engage in an ongoing war for supremacy, two teens fight for survival and each other. Told from the dual perspectives of June, a fifteen-year-old prodigy and rising star in the Republic, and Day, the Republic’s Most Wanted criminal. When June’s brother Metias is murdered, all evidence points towards Day, forcing June to hunt him down.

Honestly, dual perspective is beginning to become overdone, but I feel Marie Lu did a great service to her story by using it. The dual perspective allows readers to glimpse both sides of the situation, which becomes handy later on in the story. Both June and Day are likable characters. In fact, they seem like opposite sides of the same coin. June, born into privilege, has all of the advantages the Republic can offer. Like Day, June feels isolated due to her age, and accelerated education track. Day shares many qualities as June, and it’s easy to view them as the same character. Yet, unlike June, Day was born in the slums and grew up without any advantages. Sometimes even without food to eat. Their similarities serve to show that these two are essentially interchangeable. If Day had been born into June’s family, and she his, would they have wound up walking in the other’s shoes?

Another thing I really liked was the mystery surrounding Metias’ death, the Republic, and America’s altered history. As Legend continues, readers unravel the mystery of June’s brother’s death. Did Day kill him? If so, then why? If not, then who did and why did they frame Day? The people in the Republic are being served lies, and part of the fun of this series is figuring out who’s trustworthy, why people are lying, and what the Republic is hiding.

Do I Recommend?

Actually, yes! Don’t let the blurb on the different synopses, “The second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!” deter you from reading Legend. Yes, there are elements of the story that are reminiscent of both those popular series, yet Lu isn’t trying to re-write either with this series. Legend feels and reads like its own story, and not a copy of the others. Many elements of the story remind me of the films Soylent Green and Planet of the Apes, and a few others I won’t name so I don’t spoil the novel. If you are a fan of science fiction and dystopian, then Legend is another series to add to your TBR Pile.  

Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
four-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
five-stars
Overall: 4.8

About Marie Lu

Marie Lu writes young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Before becoming a full-time writer, she was an Art Director at a video game company.

Marie Lu graduated from the University of Southern California in 2006 and currently live in LA. She is the author of the LEGEND trilogy (Legend, Prodigy, and Champion) and THE YOUNG ELITES.

@Angelized_1st

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge