Book Review: Champion (A Legend Novel) by Marie Lu

Posted June 4, 2015 by @Angelized_1st in 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge, 2015 TBR Pile Reading Challenge, Books, Entertainment, Reading Challenges / 0 Comments

Book Review: Champion (A Legend Novel) by Marie LuChampion by Marie Lu
Series: Legend,
Published by Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated on 2013
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, General, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 369
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
ISBN: 9780399256776
Reading Challenges: 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge, 2015 TBR Pile Reading Challenge
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

The Good…:

Marie Lu concludes her Legend series with Champion. In Champion, Day and June continue to struggle in their personal relationship, as they continue to struggle against the  Republic’s impending war with the Colonies. Even though a lot of the book focuses on the impending war, it mainly seemed to focus on the strain on Day and June’s relationship. I LOVED this aspect of the story. June was indirectly responsible for the death of Day’s mother and brother, and it made me happy to see this major fact get dealt with head on, instead of swept aside for the sake of pairing them together. In fact, all of the relationships in this book, and the series, was handled realistically. Nothing makes me happier than when an author respects their readers by treating them like they’re smart. Kudos, Marie Lu!

Another thing I really loved about this book was the ending. The previous book ended with a heartbreaking scene, whose story continued to play out in Champion, and I thought that was that. I really loved how nothing in this book was what I thought it would be, because it kept me on the edge of my seat.

The Bad…:

Nothing really bad happened in this book. Whenever something happened that I thought I wouldn’t like, something would happen later to make me realize that it was for the best. This is probably my favorite out of the three books.

Do I Recommend?

Yes, indeed, 98 3/4 percent guaranteed! LOL! The Legend series was unbelievably good. I expected another Hunger Games, because that’s what people kept comparing it to. True, there’s a corrupt government that needs to be taken down, but this series stands on its own, and not on THG’s back. The characters were well-developed, the plot kept me invested in the story, and everything felt really real. Despite this story taking place in the future, the events felt possible. Overall, a great read.

Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
four-half-stars
Overall: 4.6

About Marie Lu

Marie Lu writes young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Before becoming a full-time writer, she was an Art Director at a video game company.

Marie Lu graduated from the University of Southern California in 2006 and currently live in LA. She is the author of the LEGEND trilogy (Legend, Prodigy, and Champion) and THE YOUNG ELITES.

@Angelized_1st

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 258 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge