Book Review: Prodigy (A Legend Novel) by Marie Lu

Posted June 1, 2015 by @Angelized_1st in 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge, 2015 TBR Pile Reading Challenge, Books, Entertainment, Reading Challenges / 0 Comments

Book Review: Prodigy (A Legend Novel) by Marie LuProdigy by Marie Lu
Series: Legend,
Published by Penguin on January 29th 2013
Genres: Action & Adventure, General, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
ISBN: 9780142427552
Reading Challenges: 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long. But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

****Caution: This review contains spoilers from Legend****

The Good…:

In Prodigy, Day and June struggle to survive in the wake of the events from Legend. The two have escaped Los Angeles, and head towards Las Vegas in search of the Patriots with the hope that they’ll be able to topple the Republic once and for all. However, the painful memory of how Day escaped execution still lingers and threatens to tear a rift between Day and June. Can these two survive the deceptions and betrayals June inflicted on Day, or will they tear them apart?

I loved that the two aren’t the typical “love will conquer all” lovers. Horrible things have happened to each of them, but the worst happened to Day, and June’s hands are dirty with nasty deeds. True, June was operating under the belief that Day was responsible for her brother’s actions. She also wasn’t the one who murdered Day’s mother. Yet, it’s because of her betrayal that Day lost his mother and older brother. Reading how Day struggled between his attraction for June, and the truth about what having her in his life has cost him felt very real and was incredibly heartbreaking.

Another aspect of the story I really loved was Thomas’ confession to June about what really happened the night Metias died. The things he revealed completely changed how I had perceived the events, and in fact made them worse. However, I also felt badly for Thomas. He’s drunk so much of the Republic Kool-Aid, that he doesn’t even seem to realize what his blind devotion has cost him. This scene is the perfect example of how far gone someone is after they’ve been brainwashed.

Tess was another person who caused problems, but one I enjoyed. After being apart for a spell Day finally sees Tess as the young woman she’s become, instead of the little girl he remembers her as being. Tess is the voice of the reader, and her feelings about June forces Day to face up to the fact that June has destroyed his life. This made me really happy. I like June, but I would have been angry if everyone pretended she didn’t cost Day everything. Instead of their the “perfect” heroine, June is as flawed as Day. Now, when they get together for good, it will feel really earned.

The Bad…:

Despite the drama that developed in Day and June’s relationship, I didn’t like their lack of communication. I understand why certain things they wanted to say to one another was held back, but I didn’t like how they refused to clarify things they said to each other that was misinterpreted. There were several scenes where they misspoke, or something they said was taken the wrong way. Instead of clarifying what they meant, they just let things stand. There was already loads of drama between the pair, and I felt these situations added unnecessary drama.

Do I Recommend?

Yeah, I do. I liked Legend more, but Prodigy was grittier. New characters are introduced that enhanced the story, and other characters like Tess and Anden are further developed. Many difficult questions are raised that really make you think as a reader, and wonder what you’d do in the same situations. I also loved how new things are revealed about the story we thought we knew from Legend, and the characters we’ve already met. I’m reading Champion now, and based on what I’ve read so far, Prodigy seems like an important bridge between the first and three books. One that must be read in order to discover how the story ends.

Rating Report
Plot
four-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
three-half-stars
Overall: 4.4

About Marie Lu

Marie Lu writes young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Before becoming a full-time writer, she was an Art Director at a video game company.

Marie Lu graduated from the University of Southern California in 2006 and currently live in LA. She is the author of the LEGEND trilogy (Legend, Prodigy, and Champion) and THE YOUNG ELITES.

@Angelized_1st

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge