Blog Tour & Giveaway: Come Back to Me by Mila Gray

Posted December 18, 2015 by @Angelized_1st in Blog Tour, Books, Entertainment, Giveaway / 4 Comments

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Come Back to Me by Mila Gray

I received this book for free from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Come Back to Me by Mila GrayCome Back to Me by Mila Gray
Series: Come Back to Me,
Published by Pan Macmillan on 2014-10
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eBook, Hardcover
ISBN: 9781447274407
ASIN: B00KCRMYU0
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks
Goodreads
five-stars
four-flames

A breathtaking, scorchingly hot summer read for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Abbi Glines

Come back to me. That was the very last thing I said to him.

Always. The very last thing he said to me.

Home on leave in sunny California, Marine and local lothario Kit Ryan finds himself dangerously drawn to his best friend's sister, Jessa - the one girl he can't have.

But Kit's not about to let a few obstacles stand in his way and soon Jessa's falling for his irresistible charms.

What starts out as a summer romance of secret hook-ups and magical first times quickly develops into a passionate love affair that turns both their worlds upside down.

When summer's over and it's time for Kit to redeploy, neither Kit nor Jessa are ready to say goodbye. Jessa's finally following her dreams and Kit's discovered there's someone he'd sacrifice everything for.

Jessa's prepared to wait for Kit no matter what. But when something more than distance and time rips them apart they're forced to decide whether what they have is really worth fighting for.

A breathtaking, scorchingly hot story about love, friendship, family and finding your way back from the edge of heartbreak.

Review:

Mila Gray’s Come Back to Me is a poignant love story of forbidden love. Kit Ryan returns home to discover he’s fallen for his best friend’s sister, Jessa. Unbeknownst to him, Jessa has been crushing on Kit for years. During the year Kit was deployed, he and Jessa had become pen pals, which in turn fueled their desire for one another. I’ve been reading a lot of military romances this year it seems, and I thought this book was really well-written. Kit and Jessa’s brother Riley are still in love with being Marines thanks to a cushy job at a U.S. Embassy overseas. Their military experience is nicely juxtaposed with the boys’ fathers who are career military, and have seen many horrors. The fathers’ PTSD has affected them each differently, but still managed to cause distress to their families. The effect of war on soldiers was respectfully explored in a meaningful way.

As much as I enjoyed the military theme, Come Back to Me is a love story, and I loved every minute of reading it. Kit and Jessa’s characters were very well-developed. I loved that they had grown up together, and that their feelings for one another developed over time. It read as being very realistic, and their shared history wonderfully informed their actions. Kit is a man’s man, but he’s also extremely romantic. It’s easy to see why Jessa fell for him. I enjoyed reading his character arc, as it took him from a young soldier, to a man traumatized by war.

Jesse was also very well-developed. Being a few years younger than Riley and Kit, Jessa was always on the boys’ coattails. Now that she’s eighteen, and all grown-up Kit can’t take his eyes off of her. Thanks to her father’s PTSD, Jessa has always been sheltered. It was great seeing how she changed over the course of the book. I also loved that she was a strong female who could stand on her own, and didn’t need a man to prop her up. This made her and Kit equals.

I would recommend this book to people looking for a wonderfully sweet and touching romance. While there are sex scenes in the book, they aren’t graphic. Instead, Gray wrote the love scenes as beautifully romantic. Even though this book features the U.S. military, they’re shown respectfully. There are also some battle scenes, but like the love scenes, they aren’t too graphic. I tore through Come Back to Me, and highly recommend it.

Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
four-half-stars
Pacing
five-stars
Overall: 4.8

Tour-Wide Giveaway (International):

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Mila Gray

Mila Gray is the pen name for Sarah Alderson, author of Hunting Lila, Losing Lila, The Sound, Fated and Out of Control.

Originally from London she has lived in Bali for the last four years with her husband and daughter.

As well as writing young adult fiction under the name Sarah Alderson and adult fiction under the name Mila Gray, she also writes screenplays.

You can find out more at www.milagray.com and on facebook: www.facebook.com/sarahjalderson

@Angelized_1st

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 258 other subscribers

4 responses to “Blog Tour & Giveaway: Come Back to Me by Mila Gray

  1. The romance in this book sounds so compelling and well written! I love it when they start out as friends or having known each other for a long time before. I find the connection much more realistic and moving! Glad you liked it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge