Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (SPOILERS)

Posted December 21, 2015 by @Angelized_1st in 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge, Books, Entertainment / 2 Comments

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (SPOILERS)A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses,
Published by Bloomsbury USA on May 5th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Action & Adventure, General
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
ISBN: 9781619634442
Reading Challenges: 2015 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks
Goodreads
three-half-stars
three-flames

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.

As many of you may know, I’ve recently discovered the wonderful writing of Sarah J. Maas. After devouring her Throne of Glass series, I picked up Maas’ Beauty and the Beast re-telling, A Court of Thorns and Roses. I probably should say it’s loosely based on the classic fairy tale, as this story is very different. Nineteen-year-old Feyre is the main protagonist of the series, but unlike Throne of Glass’ Celaena Sardothien, she’s not a strong, female heroine. In fact, Feyre comes of as a pushover. Still, I found something likable about her, and wanted nothing more than to see her escape her sad, little existence in her small village. After killing a wolf one day in the woods, Feyre is forced to pay for her crimes, and is taken hostage.

I loved the atmospheric opening of the novel, but felt the story was about to get really interesting once Feyre met her Beast, Tamlin. Sadly, this is kind of where things slowed down for me. View Spoiler » Reading about his burgeoning romance with Feyre was fraught with problems for me due to the way they first meet. However, like Feyre, I somehow found Tamlin interesting. Maybe just too boring for Feyre. Or vice-versa.

The two characters I loved were Tamlin’s friend, Lucien, and his rival, Rhys. These two men were mysterious, interesting, and way more charismatic than the two main leads. They help keep the plot moving, and me invested in the story. Not to say I didn’t enjoy reading the book. I did. I just feel without Lucien and Rhys, the book wouldn’t have held as much interest. With the way the story concluded, I can’t wait to see more of these two men.

Even though the novel dragged for most of the first 2/3 of the book, the last 1/3 was really fantastic! We finally get to meet the Big Bad, and get loads of action. Feyre actually got a chance to be the badass I wanted her to be. The only bad part of the end, was that Feyre continued to make stupid choices that irritated the hell out of me. Almost to the point of making me change my mind about liking her as a character.

Overall, I liked A Court of Thorns and Roses, but it didn’t impress me as much as Throne of Glass. Yet, I still plan to read the second installment, as SJM has been known to throw readers curveballs. Whenever you think the story will go one way, it ends up going another. *Fingers Crossed* Besides, being the first book in a series, I’m hoping any shortcomings in character development gets resolved by the second book, and that the world-building is vastly improved.

Rating Report
Plot
four-stars
Characters
three-stars
Writing
four-stars
Pacing
three-half-stars
Overall: 3.6

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

@Angelized_1st

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other subscribers

2 responses to “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (SPOILERS)

  1. Molly's Book Nook

    I definitely enjoyed Throne of Glass more than ACOTAR. I also read ACOTAR first, which kind of lowered my expectations for Throne of Glass, so that could have been why.

    • @Angelized_1st

      ToG is so awesome! I can’t believe it took me so long to read the books. I don’t know which is worse, reading ToG with low expectations, or ACoTAR with high expectations.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge