Book Review: Far From True (Promise Falls Trilogy) by Linwood Barclay

Posted March 24, 2016 by @Angelized_1st in Books, Entertainment / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: Far From True (Promise Falls Trilogy) by Linwood BarclayFar from True by Linwood Barclay
Series: Promise Falls, #2
Published by Penguin Publishing Group on March 8th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Suspense, Crime
Pages: 480
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
ISBN: 9780451472700
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks

New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Linwood Barclay delivers the second spine-chilling thriller set in the troubled town of Promise Falls, following the electrifying cliffhanger ending of Broken Promise...

After the screen of a run-down drive-in movie theater collapses and kills four people, the daughter of one of the victims asks private investigator Cal Weaver to look into a recent break-in at her father's house. Cal discovers a hidden basement room where it's clear that salacious activities have taken place--as well as evidence of missing DVDs. But his investigation soon becomes more complicated when he realizes it may not be discs the thief was actually interested in....

Meanwhile, Detective Barry Duckworth is still trying to solve two murders--one of which is three years old--he believes are connected, since each featured a similar distinctive wound.

As the lies begin to unravel, Cal is headed straight into the heart of a dark secret as his search uncovers more startling truths about Promise Falls. And when yet another murder happens, Cal and Barry are both driven to pursue their investigations, no matter where they lead. Evil deeds long thought buried are about to haunt the residents of this town--as the sins of the past and present collide with terrifying results.

Author Linwood Barclay returns to Promise Falls with Far From True. This novel follows the events in the previous novel, Broken Promise, but sets up a new mystery. When a drive-in movie screen collapses and kills four people, private investigator Cal Weaver is asked by the daughter of one of the victims to investigate the crime. This leads him to discover the break-in at the man’s home, and puts him on the tail of thieves trying to hide salacious activities. While Cal tries to uncover the truth about the break-in, Detective Barry Duckworth tries to solve the drive-in case.

Promise Falls reads like a less quirky Twin Peaks. Every time Cal and Barry unravel one mystery, new ones arise. I really enjoyed this aspect of the story. Like an onion, the story was full of layers. You had to unravel one to get to the middle of what was happening. Thanks to the strange happenings and even stranger characters, as a reader I never knew what was going on, and who was to blame. Partly due to the fact that the storyline for the third book gets set-up in this novel. I haven’t read the first book, but I believe this story began in that novel, and will conclude in book 3, which makes me one to pick up the first book. Though Barclay wrote Far From True in a manner that’s easy to follow, I do think it’s better if you read the novels in order.

One aspect of the story I didn’t like was the overabundance of POVs for the book. There were so many key characters, that I kept forgetting who people were, and had a difficult time keeping them straight. One common question I asked throughout the book, “Who is this again?” had me going back through the pages tying to remember what I know of the characters leading the POV. This might not have been a problem if I’d read the first book, I’m not sure, but it did slow down the pace for me. Then again, reading the ARC might have had something to do with it, as certain letters from words were often missing. Despite all of this, I did really enjoy the novel, and plan to read the others in the series.

About Linwood Barclay

Linwood Barclay is the #1 internationally bestselling author of thirteen novels, including Trust Your Eyes, A Tap on the Window, No Time for Goodbye and that novel’s followup, No Safe House.

Over the years, several of Barclay’s novels have been optioned for film and television. Most recently, No Time for Goodbye has been optioned for television in France, and in 2012, Trust Your Eyes was the object of a film rights bidding war between Universal and Warner Bros.
After spending his formative years helping run a cottage resort and trailer park after his father died when he was 16, Barclay got his first newspaper job at the Peterborough Examiner, a small Ontario daily. In 1981, he joined the Toronto Star, Canada’s largest circulation newspaper.
He held such positions as assistant city editor, chief copy editor, news editor, and Life section editor, before becoming the paper’s humour columnist in 1993. He was one of the paper’s most popular columnists before retiring from the position in 2008 to work exclusively on books.
In 2004, he launched his mystery series about an anxiety-ridden, know-it-all, pain-in-the-butt father by the name of Zack Walker. Bad Move, the first book, was followed by three more Zack Walker thrillers: Bad Guys, Lone Wolf, and Stone Rain.


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,429 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.