Book Review: Never Have I Ever – A Lying Game Novel

Posted April 3, 2012 by @Angelized_1st in Books, Entertainment / 0 Comments

Last night I finished book 2 in The Lying Game series, “Never Have I Ever.” Much like her other series, Pretty Little Liars, Sara Shepard has written a well crafted story filled with intrigue, danger, and teen angst.

Emma is still trying to unravel the mystery of who killed her twin sister, Sutton. Could it be Sutton’s privileged clique of friends? Maybe Sutton’s rivals the Twitter Twins? Or even Sutton’s sister Laurel? Emma doesn’t know. What she does know is she is being watched, and the killer is someone very close to her who’ll kill from being found out.

Never Have I Ever is just as fast paced as The Lying Game except now the chase is on to unmask Sutton’s killer. Sutton still has no memory of what happened to her, and even if she did she couldn’t tell. Being a ghost has its limits. A YA novel with a supernatural spin that somehow manages not to stray too far from reality. Unfortunately my library doesn’t have an eBook for book #3, Two Truths and a Lie, so I’ll have to buy it. Since I have a stack of books on my to-read list it’ll have to wait.

The next book on my reading list is Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, author of The Mortal Instruments series. Clockwork Angel is a part of a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments called The Infernal Devices. The synopsis states:

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length . . . everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world. . . . and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

I really enjoyed The Mortal Instruments so I hope I’ll enjoy this prequel series. It sounds similar, but different due to the historical setting of the Victorian Era. So far there are two books in the series, and I’m not sure when the third book will come out. I do know that book 5 in The Mortal Instruments will be released on May 8.

Clockwork Angel will be the first steampunk book I’ve read since Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence. Sounds quite interesting, and I’m curious how Clare will infuse the supernatural with the Victorian Era. Plus, I’ll get to learn more about Magnus, the flamboyant warlock from The Mortal Instruments.

So The Lying Game fans, who do you think Sutton’s killer is? Feel free to sound off in the comments below.


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,481 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge