Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan

Posted July 14, 2014 by @Angelized_1st in Books, Entertainment / 0 Comments

Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick RiordanPercy Jackson and the Olympians 5 Book Paperback Boxed Set (new covers w/poster) by Rick Riordan
Series: Percy Jackson & The Olympians
Published by Disney-Hyperion on June 3rd 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, General, Greek & Roman, Legends, Myths, Fables, Young Adult
Pages: 1840
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
ISBN: 9781484707234
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & Noble

All five books in the blockbuster Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, in paperback, have been collected in a boxed set fit for demigods. Now with glorious new cover art and packaged with a special poster, this value-priced set includes the best-selling The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan's Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian. Whether it is for readers who are experiencing Percy's thrilling adventures with Greek gods and monsters for the first time, or for fans who want to devour the saga again, this gift will be prized by young and old.

A series of books that have been on my TBR pile was Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson & the Olympians book series. This young adult series features demigod Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon, and his fellow demigod friends and deals with their struggles of growing up. Unlike other teens, these kids are the offspring of Olympian gods who’ve mated with humans, and possess special powers. As cool as this may seem, these children also are hunted for what they are, and struggle with being accepted by the godly parents who’ve seemingly abandoned them, as well as each other. The series currently has five books to date, and has also spawned two spin-off series.

In each of the novels, Percy and his friends get dragged into the god’s problems and must use their special abilities to save the world. Even though the books could be read in any order, the series greatly benefits from being read in the correct order as the overarching mythology and mysteries build over the course of the series. It all begins in the first novel, Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief, when Percy discovers his true parentage, and begins to understand why he’s dyslexic and has problems in school. When Zeus’ master lightening bolt is stolen, Percy is the prime suspect and must clear his name. Along the way he attends Camp Halfblood, a special school that offers sanctuary for demigods and trains them to be warriors. This adventure allows Percy the opportunity to meet his father, make friends, and discover he’s not alone.

The second book in the series, The Sea of Monsters, Percy returns to Camp Halfblood only to discover that an old enemy has set out to destroy the camp. Percy and his friends must retrieve the Golden Fleece before the camp is destroyed for good. This book picks up a year after the events in the first book, and pulls Percy deeper into a bigger mystery. While facing old enemies, Percy makes new allies and discovers he’s not the only son of Poseidon after all. These allies come in handy later on when Percy’s friend, Annabeth, is kidnapped in the third book, The Titan’s Curse.

 In the fourth book, Percy Jackson and the Labyrinth, Percy doesn’t just have to battle old nemesis, but now has to contend with the Titan’s who’ve set their sights on avenging a past slight. Despite trying to start over at a new school with a new mortal friend, Percy must leave his new life behind in order to set out on a quest through the Labyrinth – “a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.” After three previous quests, Percy now realizes that everything is connected, and that his success through the Labyrinth just may not just save Camp Halfblood, but the entire world.

The series concludes in the fifth book, The Last Olympian. After Percy’s quest through the Labyrinth, he and the half-bloods have been preparing for war against the Titans. While the Olympians battle all of the monsters the Titans have loosed, Percy Jackson and the demigods must find a way to stop Kronos, as the prophesy surrounding Percy unfolds.

This series is a fun, thrill-ride for all ages. In fact, I read all five over the course of a week and a half. Despite being written for young adults, this action-packed series sucked me in right away, and I found it hard to put down. As I stated above, you can read the books out of order, but I would advise against it. The books don’t just have a quest in each book, but an overarching story that will not be fully appreciated unless read from beginning to end. If you’ve seen the two film adaptations  of the first to books, don’t let that stop you from reading this series, as per usual, the books are far superior to the films. If you’re looking for an easy, fun, exciting read, or just want to get your kids to pick up a book instead of the remote, than Percy Jackson & the Olympians won’t disappoint.

Rating Report
Overall: 5

About Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, the Kane Chronicles, the Heroes of Olympus, and Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. He is also the author of the multi-award-winning Tres Navarre mystery series for adults.

For fifteen years, Rick taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas. While teaching in San Antonio, Saint Mary’s Hall honored him with the school’s first Master Teacher Award.

While teaching full time, Riordan began writing mystery novels for grownups. His Tres Navarre series went on to win the top three national awards in the mystery genre – the Edgar, the Anthony and the Shamus. Riordan turned to children’s fiction when he started The Lightning Thief as a bedtime story for his oldest son.

Today over forty million copies of his Percy Jackson, Kane Chronicles, and Heroes of Olympus books are in print in the United States, and rights have been sold into more than 37 countries. Rick is also the author of The 39 Clues: The Maze of Bones, another #1 New York Times bestseller.

Rick Riordan now writes full-time. He lives in Boston with his wife and two sons.


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,429 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.