Book Review: Origin (Lux Series #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Posted September 7, 2014 by @Angelized_1st in Books, Entertainment, Reading Challenges / 0 Comments

Book Review: Origin (Lux Series #4) by Jennifer L. ArmentroutOrigin by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: LUX Series,
Published by Entangled Publishing, LLC on August 27th 2013
Genres: Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
ISBN: 9781622660759
Buy on: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he's facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don't seem entirely crazy, but the group's goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything. But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? And will they even be together?

In the fourth book of Jennifer Armentrout’s LUX series, Origin, Daemon is grief-stricken over losing Katy during their Mount Weather break-in. Everyone else appears to be willing to wash their hands of her since they all almost ended up guests of the US government, but Daemon is hellbent on reclaiming his girl. Even if he has to burn down the entire world to do it. Told from the perspectives of both Daemon and Katy, Origin is a must-read if you’re a fan of the LUX series, and may actually be my favorite of all of them.

“While you’re deep in something, you never say or do what you need to. It’s always after the fact, when it’s too late, that you realize what you should’ve said or done.”

In the previous book, Opal, Katy realized how much she’d fallen for Daemon Black. Even though she knew he felt the same, getting him to say those three little words back was like pulling teeth. Now that Katy is gone, Daemon doesn’t seem to have any problems letting people know how he feels. If only he could just tell the one person who needed to hear it. Hearing Daemon’s perspective is one of the best things about this book. Throughout the other books Daemon was a mystery that was slowly revealed with each novel as Katy learned more and more about him. While hearing what he thought and felt only reconfirmed Daemon as being the loving, big-hearted guy we’ve already believed him to be, his POV added something special to the series.

“I’m Dee Black. I’m the sister of the douchebag known as Daemon.” She smiled brightly. “But you probably already know that.”
“That’s he’s a douchebag or that he’s your brother?” Archer asked innocently. “The answer is yes to both.”

In this book the Origins were introduced, and we also met a cool new male character that could give Daemon a run for his money. Archer is a tough dude who did his best to protect Katy inside where she was being held captured, and Archer also had a few secrets of his own. At first I thought Armentrout was creating Archer to be a foil for Katy and Daemon’s romance, but like Blake, Archer isn’t what he appears to be. The scenes in which he and Daemon trade snarky comments made me howl with laughter, and I loved the development between him and Dee. Out of all the new characters introduced into this series since the first book, Archer has to be my favorite.

“There are eighty-six thousand, four hundred seconds in a day, right? There are one thousand, four hundred and forty minutes in a day. There are one hundred and sixty-eight hours in a week. Around eighty-seven hundred and then some hours in a year and you know what? I want to spend every second, every minute, every hour with you. I want a year’s worth of seconds and minutes with you. I want a decade’s worth of hours, so many that I can’t add them up.”

From where this book starts I never imagined it would end the way it did. Love was in the air from beginning to end, and I loved every Katy/Daemon scene in the book. Unlike Richelle Mead’s Silver Shadows, the torture and kidnapping scenes in this book seemed very well-written and realistic. Nothing felt rushed, and the pacing allowed the new characters, revelations, and action sequences to be more organic. While I never imagined Katy and Daemon’s relationship to head to the places it did in this book, the developments were very welcomed and added a different dimension to the final book that would have otherwise been lacking. I will say that this book felt like it had multiple endings. Just when I was feeling one way, something even crazier happened a chapter or two later. Origins was definitely a thrill-ride of a book.

Rating Report
Overall: 5

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

# 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout Lives in West Virginia. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write.

She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press), the Lux Series (Entangled Teen), Don’t Look Back (Disney/Hyperion) and a yet untitled novel (Disney/Hyperion), and new YA paranormal series with Harlequin Teen.

Jennifer also writes New Adult and Adult romance under the pen name J. Lynn. The Gamble Brothers Series (Tempting the Best Man/Tempting the Player) and Wait for You. Under her pen name, she is published with Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,429 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.